A five-year old film photographer

I took my son to his first ever photo walk a couple of weeks ago in Sydney CBD. And of course he did shoot film – Arista Professional 400. Out of my fifty something cameras, I shortlisted around five and he picked up Olympus mju 140 zoom.

image

Here is a picture of my son, Kuzey Aren, with his camera on the day of shooting. I took this one with my smart phone so apologies for digital contamination! πŸ™‚

image

Here are the shots he took with his Oly… We started the walk just after his music class, so the first shot he took was his friend Noah with his mother, Natasha

image

Then we started to walk around in the city and here are some street photography from a five-year old ‘photographer’

image

image

image

image

He also took few portraits of his dad of course…

image

image

image

After I gave him a quick tutorial about framing and how to handle the camera, he happily explored the area to find out subjects to shoot. As his dad, I might not be objective, but I reckon he did a good job!

image

image

image

image

image

On the way back to the train station, we came across a rally organized by Refugee Action Coalition. He took his position and fired few shots while the crowd was marching towards Town Hall. And again, entirely subjective, but I think his reached his peak in this roll with these few shots, especially because of the attention he received from the crowd…

image

image

image

image

And he took the last shot of his roll at the train – a candid portrait…

image

I enjoyed taking photographs with my five year old son, but I must say his photos were well beyond my expectations. So a proud dad here, and hope you also enjoyed his work…

More to come I promise, as he has his eyes on my Minolta Maxxum 700si and I believe he deserves an upgrade! Doesn’t he???

4 thoughts on “A five-year old film photographer

  1. very good job indeed! actually for teaching DSLR with a display may be much better – you can explain and review the results immediately. not sure if he will remember these moments he photographed after a few days or even hours of waiting for developing. just thoughts..

    Like

    • Thank you Victor! I let him use my NEX and smart phone cameras for a while. My aim actually was not to teach him photography per se, but just having fun together. But apparently he did quite well and will take our future photo walks more seriously. Santa might bring him a nice camera this year I reckon

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A little Picasso in the making! You’ll cherish those moments, as will he. My father has since passed from this earth, but I still remember him preaching ‘Composition, composition, composition…’ Cheers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

